Carta 203

02/07/2013 16:34

DATA DA PUBLICAÇÃO: 31/12/2011 – OBS: resposta na pag. 5.

 

 

De: JOÃO

Para: Pr. Sólon

Data: 22 de dezembro de 2011 19:09

Assunto: My conversation with a ICM pastor (Is this true?)

This is an email conversation between myself and an English speaking Brazilian pastor.   My latest email to him was simply to copy him the url that would take him to the 4shared copy of the pdf of Procedimento Adm PES document (the one posted to an Orkut discussion).   My question for him is simple: Is this true? And for him to give me, an English speaking person, the official ICM position.  Previously I've tried to talk with him about problems he's probably witnessed, and my latest point and response to him is that this alledged scandal at the level of vice president in the PES, if true, makes all the rhetoric in ICM seminars against other denominations, hypocrisy to some degree.

It calls all orientations that are revealed it to question. Of course, as you see I respond here, the answer to these things "brought into question" may very well be that they are true.  But the answer in other things may be that it was "the things of man".   But his response to me seems almost to be one of already judging me as a mocker.   How sad that any valid concerns and questions against the PES is seen as "rebellion".  I've already informed this pastor that I was looking for another church (where I go secretly for now), which he of course did not seem to approve of.  Of course, he had to admit that it is possible for people to have salvation outside ICM.   I hope I've given him something to think about.   I hope this information will have him seeking the Lord directly.   His email to me seems to border on spiritual abuse, as it reminds me of how people seem to try to strike fear in the hearts of the listeners in the seminars.  Of course we want to communicate these matters of questions and answers in as loving a way as possible - so I can agree with what scriptures he quotes to some degree.  I think this scripture to some degree applies to my mistrust of the leadership in ICM:

Deuteronomy 18:22  If what a prophet proclaims in the name of the LORD does not take place or come true, that is a message the LORD has not spoken. That prophet has spoken presumptuously. Do not be afraid of him.

In other words, a scandal at that level, if actually the calls, would seem to relate somewhat to this verse.   This other verse comes to mind:

Matthew 7:16 By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles?

P.S. - I've removed his and my email address from the correspondences below.  But feel free to edit further if you think it needs further editing to respect his privacy.

 

---------- Forwarded message ----------

From: [me]

Date: Thu, Dec 22, 2011 at 2:11 PM

Subject: Re: Is this true?

To: [pastor in ICM]

 

Please understand one thing.  If something this big has indeed happened at that level then it's the height of hypocrisy.   It calls all revealed orientations into doubt (not to say they are all false, nor from the Lord - but that we cannot blindly accept everything purported to be revealed).  Again, regarding this scandal - if it's true, and at the level of the vice president - then the same things we say about other places and their leadership would apply to us.   I refuse to hold a double standard.   I don't think God wants either of us to hold to a double standard.

God wants us to trust in Him, and not in man.

Between those two things, the choice is very clear for me.

But you're right about the need for these communications to be done carefully, and with love and not malice.

We can shake [our] fingers [in disapproval] at how this information became available - but the bottom line is the scandal at that level is something folks cannot ignore.

There are brothers abroad having gifts showing major problems with in ICM, and this is in line with that.   I'll say it again: A scandal at that level calls everything into question.   If you cannot see that, then it's probably better not to continue the discussion.

On Thu, Dec 22, 2011 at 1:05 PM, [pastor in ICM] wrote:

The Lord has an answer to you.

"Hear the word of the Lord:

Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the sit of mockers. But his delight is in the law of the Lord and on His law he meditates day and night.

Not so the wicked! Therefore the wicked will not stand in the judgement, nor sinners in the assembly of the righteous."

Dear friend, the church has a well-established sound doctrine in the hearts of the righteous and faith full. If you're seeking faults in man to justify your rebellion, you need not search much. moreover, be aware that you are in idolatry and a follower of man rather than being guided by the Holy Spirit. In our church, the ones who go wrong are those who leave or are expelled and some of them become mockers, whereas in some other churches they rise to higher posts.

Concerning the mockers, here's the word of the Lord about them:

"I have heard the insults of Moab and the taunts of the Ammonites, who insulted my people and made threats against their land. Therefore, as surely as I live" declares the Lord Almighty, the God of Israel, "surely Moab will become like Sodom, and the Ammonites like Gomorrah - a place of weeds and salt pits, a wasteland forever. The remnant of My people will plunder them; the survivors of My nation will inherit their land." This is what they will get in return for their pride, for insulting and mocking the people of the Lord Almighty. Zephaniah 2:8 - 10.

This is the promise of the Lord to His church: " But I will leave within you the meek and humble, who trust in the name of the Lord. The remnant of Israel will do no wrong; They will speak no lies, nor will deceit be founf in their mouths. They will eat and lie down and no one will make them afraid."

Now the following things I say to you, not the Lord: I did Not like the tone of your e-mail with the attached file on a procedure. It implied as if I would support misdeeds or wrongful behavior or downright stealing. To your information, I hate stealing, insincerity, and dishonesty ( since I was stolen by someone with a position and that caused loss in my spiritual life) and since you have not shown any [improvement] since we began to correspond, I think we should stop writing. I will not write to you anymore, but beware that if you join the choir of mockers you will suffer the Lord's rebuke.

One last piece [of] advice from the Lord: " Seek righteousness, seek humility; perhaps you will be sheltered on the day of the Lord's anger."

May you have some sensitivity in your heart to the voice of the Holy Spirit.

[pastor in ICM]

Em seg, 19/12/11, [myself] escreveu:

De: [Myself]

Assunto: Re: Is this true?

Para: [pastor in ICM]...

Please hurry.. I want to know what's going on... I realize your short on time, but I hope you can do me this favor.

On Fri, Dec 9, 2011 at 6:57 PM, [myself] wrote:

Now what do you say about this?   How would you sum up this letter?

[url to 4shared copy of Procedimento Adm PES document]

 

De: JOÃO

Para: Pr. Sólon

Data: 23 de dezembro de 2011 20:45

Assunto: Re: My conversation with a ICM pastor (Is this true?)

 

Well... here's more of our conversation... what do you make of the gift he says here?  It's incredible how he simply can't see my trust in the leadership of ICM has been badly shaken, and that I need to be a good Berean (Acts 17:11).

-----------

[the pastor]: I had given up on you for your hate, rebellion and stubborness, but the Lord Hasn`t given up on you yet. To tell you the truth, I was getting angry at you, but the Lord`s mercy and compassion are so great, so unsearchable that I cannot understand. I wouldn`t write to you anymore, however, the Lord told me to tell you this: "David`s sin was also outrageous. Will you rip off all the Psalm pages of your bible and say that they lack revelation? Come to Me and I will teach you wisdom."

[myself]: I will pray about this.  The comment on Psalm you just mention is interesting, although I`m not sure how it applies to me at the present, as my feelings on Psalms have actually be very positive...[etc]...This little discovery [in Psalm 68], the other day, was also a reminder for me not to rush through Psalms so quickly.

Maybe that`s how this relates to me.  In any event, I`m not sure what to make of your responses to me.  I feel like you`ve judged me prematurely and are almost presuming I`m among the [crowds] of mockers.   This is simply not the case.   There are people out there with sincere questions and concerns who are being maligned as if they were rebels and heretics.   God is watching those who harbor such thoughts against them.  He knows their hearts. As [for] my own heart, I know the Lord showed something positive and in my favor the other night after the service.   So honestly my concious is clear in this matter.   It is possible for someone to have the doubts and concerns like I do, who is not a rebel.  He`s had plenty of opportunities to correct me.  This is my experience I`m sharing.  You don`t have to believe me - but I`m stating so, for the record.  If what I`ve written is hard to read, then of course that`s another story - but these subjects are never pleasant.  I would very much like for you to go back over our previous correspondances again, and reconsider that what I`m saying are sincere and honest concerns.  It`s ok if you don`t.

But if you do, then I`m here willing to continue the [discussion]...I guess upon reflection, this example about David`s sin and ripping out psalms saying they lack revelation seems to relate to the recent alleged scandal and my comments about how this calls everything into question again.   I was never planning to "throw out the baby with the bathwater" (e.g - reject everything) - but being a good Berean (Acts 17:11), and "test[ing] everything" and holding on to what is good, is something I fear folks do [not do] when they put blind trust into people who seem to want us to blindly accept everything from them is always revealed.  Anyone honest would admit that they would expect the same careful re-examination of things if this had happened in any other group.   Since I don`t want to hold to a double standard, [THIS group] and it`s leadership are not free from re-examination.   This is pleasing to the Lord.   Testing everything, given these unique circumstances, is hardly rebellion.  Even so, I do acknowledge that one (myself included) must do so with love, and not malice. You have to understand that my trust in men, [whom] I thought I could trust, was shaken.  If you can`t understand that, then please don`t write back to me.

 

De: Pr. Sólon

Para: JOÃO

Data: 31 de dezembro de 2011 11:55

Assunto: Re: My conversation with a ICM pastor (Is this true?)

Prezado irmão, que a paz do Senhor Jesus seja com toda a sua casa.

Pelo que entendi, você me enviou parte de suas correspondências com um pastor da ICM, onde você questionava se as denúncias de corrupção envolvendo a liderança da ICM eram verdadeiras.

Pois bem, pelo nível em que chegou a conversa, creio que agora você deve ter compreendido como se comporta uma pessoa que teve a doutrina da ICM introjetada em sua mente.

No caso dos pastores, o que observei ao longo dos meus anos de ICM é que eles não estão acostumados com esse tipo de enfrentamento. Isso não é uma coisa natural para eles, afinal, sempre aprenderam que são os “ungidos de Deus” e que não podem ser tocados por homem algum.

Também, é bom lembrar que, se chegaram ao ministério na ICM, é porque já estão muito bem adaptados às regras hierárquicas da igreja, de modo que se sentem verdadeiros generais em batalha. Quando são questionados por subalternos, tomam isso como uma afronta, porque os soldados devem apenas obedecer ao comando sem pensar muito e sem fazer muitas perguntas. Nesse regime, aqueles que insistem em pensar e perguntar são classificados como rebeldes, insubmissos e inconvenientes, dignos de repreensão – “ainda não entenderam a obra”.

Para completar, você já deve saber que, na ICM, os pastores acreditam que a Igreja Cristã Maranata é a própria “obra do Espírito Santo” e que essa “obra” está no mesmo nível da Trindade. Logo, qualquer crítica a alguma doutrina ou prática da igreja e de seus pastores é considerada como uma ofensa ao Senhor, a quem eles amam.

Por isso, querido, a reação do pastor que você questionou não poderia ser outra senão sentir-se ofendido e, consequentemente, devolver-lhe a ofensa sob a forma de repreensão. Vou arriscar a tradução de um trecho dos dizeres do pastor que, a meu ver, demonstra o quanto ele se sentiu ofendido por seu questionamento:

O Senhor tem uma resposta para você. Ouvi a palavra do Senhor: Bem-aventurado o homem que não anda no conselho dos ímpios, não se detém no caminho dos pecadores, nem se assenta na roda dos escarnecedores. Antes, o seu prazer está na lei do SENHOR, e na sua lei medita de dia e de noite. Não são assim os ímpios! Por isso os ímpios não subsistirão no juízo, nem os pecadores na congregação dos justos.

Caro amigo, a igreja tem uma sã doutrina bem estabelecida nos corações dos justos e cheia de fé. Se você estiver procurando falhas no homem para justificar sua rebelião, você não precisa procurar muito. Além disso, esteja ciente que você está na idolatria e um seguidor do homem ao invés de ser guiado pelo Espírito Santo. Na nossa igreja, os que não dão certo saem ou são expulsos e alguns deles se tornam zombadores, ao passo que em algumas outras igrejas que sobem aos postos mais elevados. (...) Agora as seguintes coisas eu vos digo, não o Senhor: Eu não gostei do tom do seu e-mail (...) Não vou escrever mais a você, mas cuidado que se você juntar ao coro dos escarnecedores você vai sofrer repreensão do Senhor. (os grifos não constam do original)

Não sei quem foi o pastor com o qual você se comunicou, mas percebi que se trata de um homem que acredita que suas palavras são as palavras do próprio Deus.

Evidentemente, eu não quero entrar nesse mérito, pois cada um sabe de si mesmo. Mas, sem pretender desqualificar o pastor, creio que a comparação feita entre o pecado de Davi e a corrupção administrativa da liderança da ICM não faz muito sentido.

Posso ter entendido errado devido à precariedade da minha tradução, mas, se não me engano, ele disse o seguinte:

“...o Senhor disse-me para lhe dizer isto: "o pecado de Davi também foi ultrajante. Você vai arrancar todas as páginas de Salmos de sua Bíblia e dizer que faltou revelação?

No meu modo de ver, há uma diferença abissal entre o comportamento de Davi e o comportamento da liderança da ICM. Primeiramente, todos que tiverem a curiosidade de ler a história de Davi verão o quanto ele era um homem de coração quebrantado e que reconhecia e se arrependia de seus erros humildemente, apesar de sua condição de Rei sobre todo o Israel, senão vejamos:

Então, disse Davi a Natã: Pequei contra o SENHOR. Disse Natã a Davi: Também o SENHOR te perdoou o teu pecado; não morrerás.” (2 Samuel 12:13 RA)

“Vendo Davi ao Anjo que feria o povo, falou ao SENHOR e disse: Eu é que pequei, eu é que procedi perversamente; porém estas ovelhas que fizeram? Seja, pois, a tua mão contra mim e contra a casa de meu pai.” (2 Samuel 24:17 RA)

“1 Compadece-te de mim, ó Deus, segundo a tua benignidade; e, segundo a multidão das tuas misericórdias, apaga as minhas transgressões. 2  Lava-me completamente da minha iniqüidade e purifica-me do meu pecado. 3  Pois eu conheço as minhas transgressões, e o meu pecado está sempre diante de mim. 4  Pequei contra ti, contra ti somente, e fiz o que é mal perante os teus olhos, de maneira que serás tido por justo no teu falar e puro no teu julgar. (...)10  Cria em mim, ó Deus, um coração puro e renova dentro de mim um espírito inabalável.” (Salmos 51:1-5 e 10 RA)

Honestamente, as atitudes da liderança da ICM não me remetem ao exemplo de Davi, nesse particular. Eu não vejo essa humildade nos líderes da ICM, mesmo diante de constatações públicas de suas falhas. A exemplo dos últimos acontecimentos, mesmo após o próprio Presbitério Espírito Santense (PES) ter identificado uma desorganização administrativa que permitiu desvio de recursos da igreja (PA-ICM-PES 1/2011), não vi em momento algum a liderança reconhecendo a falha ou pedindo perdão, nem a Deus nem aos membros que se sentiram ofendidos pela coisas erradas que foram identificadas. Ao contrário, ataques e represálias aos denunciantes e algumas justificativas parecidas com as que aconteceram no Éden:

“11 Perguntou-lhe Deus: Quem te fez saber que estavas nu? Comeste da árvore de que te ordenei que não comesses? 12  Então, disse o homem: A mulher que [Tu] me  deste por esposa, ela me deu da árvore, e eu comi.” (Gênesis 3:11-12 RA)

Não sei se você percebeu, mas Adão, em vez de admitir seu erro, preferiu justificar-se lançando a culpa no próprio Deus, que lhe deu uma esposa, e na mulher que lhe deu do fruto proibido. Segundo o que se pode perceber das palavras de Adão, se não fossem a ação de Deus e a da mulher, ele não teria pecado. Logo, ele era o menos culpado dos três.

E você? Como você classificaria o comportamento da liderança da ICM? Como você classificaria a atitude do pastor que você questionou? Você diria que revelam humildade, quebrantamento, arrependimento e espiritualidade? Ou diria que revelam soberba, arrogância, intransigência, grosseria e carnalidade? Creio que a sua própria resposta o levará a meditar sobre o que, de fato, merece sua atenção em relação à ICM.

Analise a situação e responda: será que o grande problema da ICM é administrativo?

Amado, sobre as denúncias de corrupção na liderança da ICM, apenas observe o desdobramento dos fatos e você conhecerá um pouco mais sobre a igreja a que você pertence.

Não sei o que eles farão, mas vou lhe dizer o que eu faria se fosse o Presidente de uma igreja e descobrisse que o Vice-Presidente está desviando o dinheiro dos dízimos e das ofertas: sem prejuízo da ação penal devida, eu buscaria o ressarcimento do dinheiro desviado, pois acho que quem administra dízimos e ofertas não tem o direito de abrir mão da recomposição dos cofres da igreja quando sabe quem subtraiu o dinheiro. Afinal, o administrador dos recursos de Deus é apenas um mordomo cuidando do que não lhe pertence. Logo, tudo o que recebeu deve ser aplicado nos seus exatos fins.

“40  Ficai também vós apercebidos, porque, à hora em que não cuidais, o Filho do Homem virá. 41  Então, Pedro perguntou: Senhor, proferes esta parábola para nós ou também para todos? 42  Disse o Senhor: Quem é, pois, o mordomo fiel e prudente, a quem o senhor confiará os seus conservos para dar-lhes o sustento a seu tempo? 43  Bem-aventurado aquele servo a quem seu senhor, quando vier, achar fazendo assim. 44  Verdadeiramente, vos digo que lhe confiará todos os seus bens.” (Lucas 12:40-44 RA)

Se Deus não admite a má aplicação dos seus recursos (talentos), quanto mais repreenderá aqueles que o furtam ou aqueles que não se movem para recompor o que foi indevidamente subtraído.

“26  Respondeu-lhe, porém, o senhor: Servo mau e negligente, sabias que ceifo onde não semeei e ajunto onde não espalhei? 27  Cumpria, portanto, que entregasses o meu dinheiro aos banqueiros, e eu, ao voltar, receberia com juros o que é meu.” (Mateus 25:26-27 RA)

Com o nosso dinheiro podemos fazer o que bem quisermos. Podemos, inclusive, desperdiçá-lo. Mas, quando administramos o que não é nosso, devemos, sim, prestar contas da nossa administração e demonstrar que fizemos o que deveria ser feito e que não deixamos nada se perder por nossa omissão.

O Senhor te abençoe e te guarde; o Senhor faça resplandecer o rosto sobre ti e tenha misericórdia de ti; o Senhor sobre ti levante o rosto e te dê a paz.

Grande abraço,

Pr. Sólon.